top of page

About Manolayoga (they/them)

Foto_edited_edited.jpg

For many years I played volleyball at a high level and competed in several half marathons. Again and again I was confronted with various injuries. In 2012 I had such pain in my shoulders that doctors told me I needed surgery on both shoulders. That's when I realized that I didn't want that and looked for ways to avoid this operation. A colleague recommended that I try yoga.

 

Through yoga, I not only got my shoulders pain-free again, but also found a balance for body, soul and spirit. I am particularly fascinated by the fact that no matter how long someone has been practicing yoga, there are always opportunities to get to know your own body better.

In 2014 I completed my basic training as a yoga teacher (RYT 200hr) in Mexico and have been teaching Vinyasa Yoga regularly since August 2014. In 2018/2019 I completed further training at Planet Yoga in Zurich in Vinyasa and Yin Yoga (RYT 300hr). Since 2021 I have been attending weekly handstand courses with Eulalie Blanc and Miguel Fregonese to perfect my handstand.

Correct body alignment and posture are very important to me. I am constantly working on how I can best support and correct the yoga participants in order to safely get into advanced asanas. For these reasons I attended a further training in cYoga with Carmen and Moises Aguilar in Barcelona (RYT 200hr) in summer 2019.

Are you looking for a balance for body and mind?

 

I make my classes dynamic and powerful. I value the correct execution of the movements and give individual feedback to improve posture and body awareness. We work continuously on mobility and strength building.  

My classes are influenced by Vinyasa and cYoga. Vinyasa Yoga is dynamic and mostly the movements are integrated into a flow. In cYoga classes, the exercises are typically held a little longer and practitioners receive many assists that allow them to go deeper into their asanas. In each of my classes I offer different options for the asanas and the participants can choose which position they want to stay in.

Basic and Continuing Education

2010 Continuing Education J&S Schulsport 

2014  Basic Training Yoga (Vinyasa) RYT 200, Davanna Yoga, Puerto Vallarta

2018/2019  Continuing Education Yoga (Yinyasa, Yin) RYT 300, Planet Yoga, Zürich

2019  Continuing Eduation Yoga (Hatha/cYoga), RYT 200, cYoga, Barcelona

2020  Basic Training J&S Kids 

2022  Your Spine, Your Yoga, 8 CEU, Bernie Clark & Stuart McGill, Yoga International

2023  Basic Training Breathwork, RYT 20, Loka Yoga

2023  Basic TrainingMeditation, RYT 10, Loka Yoga

2021-today  Handstand Classes with Alona Zhuravel, Eulalie Blanc, Miguel Ferogense

bottom of page

Foto_edited_edited.jpg

Über Manolayoga

Viele Jahre habe ich auf hohem Niveau Volleyball gespielt und an mehreren Halbmarathons teilgenommen. Immer wieder wurde ich mit verschiedenen Verletzungen konfrontiert. Im 2012 hatte ich solche Schmerzen in meinen Schultern, dass mir Ärzte sagten, dass ich beide Schultern operieren muss. Da wurde mir bewusst, dass ich das nicht will und suchte nach Möglichkeiten, dieser Operation aus dem Weg zu gehen. Eine Kollegin hat mir empfohlen Yoga auszuprobieren.

 

Durch das Yoga hab ich nicht nur meine Schultern wieder schmerzfrei hingekriegt, sondern auch einen Ausgleich für Körper, Seele und Geist gefunden. Es fasziniert mich besonders, dass egal wie lange jemand Yoga praktiziert, es immer wieder Möglichkeiten gibt, den eigenen Körper besser kennenzulernen.

 

Im 2014 habe ich meine Grundausbildung als Yogalehrperson (RYT 200hr) in Mexiko abgeschlossen und unterrichte seit August 2014 regelmässig Vinyasa Yoga. In 2018/2019 habe ich eine Weiterbildung im Planet Yoga in Zürich in Vinyasa und Yin Yoga (RYT 300hr) absolviert. Seit 2021 besuche ich wöchentlich Handstandkurse bei Eulalie Blanc und Miguel Fregonese um meinen Handstand zu perfektionieren.

Eine richtige Körperausrichtung und -haltung liegen mir sehr am Herzen. Ich arbeite konstant daran, wie ich die Yogateilnehmenden am besten unterstützen und korrigieren kann, um sicher in fortgeschrittene Asanas zu gelangen. Aus diesen Gründen hab ich im Sommer 2019 eine Weiterbildung in cYoga mit Carmen und Moises Aguilar in Barcelona (RYT 200hr) besucht.

Suchst du einen Ausgleich für Körper und Geist?

 

Meine Klassen gestalte ich dynamisch und kraftvoll. Ich lege Wert auf die richtige Ausführung der Bewegungen und gebe individuelles Feedback zur Verbesserung der Körperhaltung und Körperwahrnehmung. Wir arbeiten kontinuierlich an Beweglichkeit und Kraftaufbau.  

Meine Klassen sind vom Vinyasa und cYoga geprägt. Vinyasa Yoga ist dynamisch und meistens sind die Bewegungen in einen Flow eingebunden. In cYoga Klassen werden die Übungen typischerweise etwas länger gehalten und die Praktizierenden erhalten viele Assists, welche es ihnen erlauben tiefer in ihre Asanas zu gelangen. In jeder meiner Klasse biete ich verschiedene Optionen für die Asanas an und die Teilnehmenden können wählen, in welcher Positon sie verweilen wollen.